NM center on law and poverty

ARE YOU A LOW-INCOME PERSON WITHOUT CHILDREN?

You may be able to get up to $200 a month in food stamps!
WORK REQUIREMENTS HAVE BEEN TEMPORARILY LIFTED

e The Food Stamp Program work requirements for single people have temporarily been
lifted. The work requirements have been lifted from April 1, 2009 through September 30,

2010.

¢ You should not lose food stamps because of time limits. There used to be a 3-month time
limit on food stamps for some people ages 18-49 who did not meet work rules. The time
limit has been lifted.

¢ You should not lose benefits because of work rules.

e Single people can get up to $200 a month in food stamps. If you live with others, your
household may be able to get even more than $200 a month.

e You can apply —

o at your local Income Support Division (ISD) office (call 1-888-476-3676 or see
www.hsd.state.nm.us/isd to get the address), or

o by mailing or faxing in an application (call 1-888-476-3676 and ask for an
application to be sent to you or go to www.hsd.state.nm.us/isd/apply.html to print

out an application).

If you are denied or cut off of benefits because of a food stamp work rule — or for any
other reason - ask for a fair hearing. You should request the hearing in writing and get a
receipt. You can also call 1-800-432-6217 to request a hearing, but you should also give the
written request to your ISD worker.

If you need help with your fair hearing or are having a problem because of a food stamp
work rule or time limit, call:

o New Mexico Legal Aid 505-243-7871 (Albuquerque office), or

o New Mexico Center on Law and Poverty 505-255-2840
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